Tanya Burr Illuminating Powder Highlighter First Impressions and Review

productfivetwoborderbest

Hi everyone!

Does anyone else get excited about highlighters? I know I do, and so when I saw Tanya’s new illuminating powders I had to get one. In this post I am going to be giving you my thoughts on one of her new illuminating powder highlighters.

productfive

First Impression (13/7):

If you have been keeping up with Tanya Burr Cosmetics, you will know that she launched three illuminating powders, as well as contour sticks and tinted lip balms in her “Chasing The Sun” summer collection. When I first saw what products she was launching, I knew I had to try something. I gravitated towards the illuminating powder highlighter (duh). I went on FeelUnique’s website and ordered it only two days after she launched it, which I was very excited about. The highlighter was about eight pounds, which is a very good price.

First of all, can we just discuss the packaging? I actually love the look of the packaging, I really think Tanya did a good job with designing it. This highlighter looks more like a high end product, it does feel a bit luxurious. The actual highlighter itself also looks super stunning, it is domed shaped and looks like a baked highlighter. By the way, doesn’t this remind you of the Hourglass ambient lighting powders?

Anyway, I ordered it in the lightest shade available, which is the shade “Champagne Sorbet”. She brought out more of a bronze colour, a pink one and this one which is intended as a highlighter. Judging from my first impressions I am not sure that it will fit my skin tone that well, if it was a bit lighter I think it would work better for me.
I can tell from swatching it on my hand that this is one of those highlighters that you can build up for more of a glow, more of a “real life” natural highlighter. Personally, I think that is quite a good thing. However, I noticed that there was quite a bit of glitter in this. That doesn’t necessary mean it’s bad, I just prefer a little less glitter in my highlight and more of a glow.
However, I am going to be trying this out anyway, as it seems to be a gorgeous highlighter!

producttwoswatch.jpg

Review (22/7):

I have used this highlighter quite a few times now, and I think that it just isn’t for me. It is too dark for me, however I can make it work, but I can also reach for a highlighter that is lighter. It does have glitter in it, which isn’t my favourite thing. But, for the price, it is a good highlighter if you have a darker skin tone. There is glitter in it, so if you don’t mind that then you will probably really like it. You can build it up for more of a blinding glow, or go for a more natural, dewy look. On me it doesn’t accentuate my pores either, which I like. It kind of has pink undertones too, as you can probably tell from the picture.

I think I can make it work if I am a bit more tan, however to be honest it is sadly a little bit too dark for me.
If I look straight forward, I can tell that the highlighter is there as it is a little bit too dark for my skin tone. However, it is not that noticeable. I can use it, but I would be aware of it not fitting my skin tone perfectly. I don’t have that fair skin, but anyone that has more of a tan skin tone it would look a lot better on.
You can tell that there is glitter in the highlight, which I am not a huge fan of. So if you don’t like highlighters with glitter in them, then you won’t like this. It still gives a pretty glow and feels creamy though.

productthreebetter

Pros:
– Is buildable, so you can go for either a more natural look or a more blinding look
– Would work for several different skin tones
– Smooth formula
– Doesn’t accentuate pores
– Pretty packaging
– Affordable price

Cons:
-Not a wide shade range
– Only available online in a lot of countries

Over all I think it is a pretty good highlighter for the price, just not right for me. Even if it didn’t match my skin tone, I think Tanya created a shade that could work well on a lot of skin tones. Of course this is just my own personal opinions, so you have to try it for yourself to see how it works for you.

Thank you so much for reading as always!
/Alice x

7 thoughts on “Tanya Burr Illuminating Powder Highlighter First Impressions and Review

Leave a Reply

